RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube
Expand Menu

Cliff Lee wins Cy Young

Talk about the Cleveland Indians, Major League Baseball, and other sports.

Cliff Lee wins Cy Young

Postby TonyIBI » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:01 pm


Cliff Lee of the Cleveland Indians was elected the American League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the BBWAA. It marked the second consecutive year and third time overall that a Cleveland pitcher was honored. CC Sabathia won last year. The other Indians winner was Gaylord Perry in 1972.

Lee was named first on 24 and second on the other four of the 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city for a total of 132 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. The lefthander, 30, was 22-3 in leading the AL in victories, winning percentage (.880) and ERA (2.54) and adding career-high totals of innings (223 1/3) and strikeouts (170) with four complete games and two shutouts. Lee, the starting pitcher for the AL in the All-Star Game July 15 at Yankee Stadium, was the only pitcher named on all ballots.

The other four first-place votes went to Toronto Blue Jays righthander Roy Halladay, who was the runner-up with 71 points. Halladay, the 2003 winner, had a 20-11 record with a 2.78 ERA and led the major leagues in innings (246) and complete games (9). Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim reliever Francisco Rodriguez (2-3, 2.24 ERA), who set a major league record with 62 saves, finished third with 32 points. Four other pitchers received votes.

This was the fifth time two different pitchers from the same team won the AL Cy Young Award in successive years. The others were the New York Yankees' Sparky Lyle (1977) and Ron Guidry (1978), the Baltimore Orioles' Mike Flanagan (1979) and Steve Stone (1980), the Milwaukee Brewers' Rollie Fingers (1981) and Pete Vuckovich (1982) and the Blue Jays' Pat Hentgen (1996) and Roger Clemens (1997). It has happened three times in the National League.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Cliff Lee Cleveland Indians 24 4 — 132
Roy Halladay Toronto Blue Jays 4 15 6 71
Francisco Rodriguez Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim — 7 11 32
Daisuke Matsuzaka Boston Red Sox — 2 4 10
Mariano Rivera New York Yankees — — 3 3
Mike Mussina New York Yankees — — 2 2
Ervin Santana Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim — — 2 2
User avatar
MLB Rookie
Posts: 5059
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:03 pm

Re: Cliff Lee wins Cy Young

Postby Hermie13 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:13 pm

Good for Cliff. Gonna make it harder to extend him in the future, but o well I guess.

Started getting a lil worried late in the year with the way he started to come back down to earth and the way Holladay was pitching. That guy is underrated and probably the 3rd best pitcher in the game right now (behind CC and Johan).
MLB All Star
Posts: 7120
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:34 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Cliff Lee wins Cy Young

Postby MadThinker88 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:48 pm

Can't say I am surprised that Cliff won the award. He pitched well enough to deserve it. Happy he didn't get jerked over in the voting.

Tony's comments yesterday that Cliff might finish 3rd in the voting caused my blood pressure to rise considerably. :s_bomb
Double-A Hot Shot
Posts: 1753
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Re: Cliff Lee wins Cy Young

Postby toledobuck » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:50 pm

Congrats to Cliff on an unbelievable season. I am just glad he got recognized for his dominant and consistent play this year. Lets hope he can come close to repeating this performance next year.
Rookie Baller
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:07 am

Return to Beyond The Minors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest