4 Things to Know about the Tony Conigliaro Award and It’s Winners


It’s a recognition given by the Boston Red Sox team for over 25 years, in honor of Tony Conigliaro, and for the players who have made a great difference and attitude during the MLB season. Here we bring you some facts about this award and its winners:

Who Is Tony Conigliaro?

He was a player of the Boston Red Sox who played like the right fielder. He started playing in the team since he was 17 years old, breaking incredible records like 24 home runs and hitting more than 300 times in the lower league, which made him play in the superior league. He won the best player of the year in 1969 and achieved great records, retiring at age 30.

In Honor of His Memory

The Boston Red Sox decided to honor the memory of Conigliaro by dying in 1990, which is why the team decided to create a distinction in his honor to the best player of the year in the team.

Selection of the Winner

The selection is made annually and is chosen through a panel of voters made up of the media, the major leagues, and the lower league and the commissioner. It’s delivered at the Boston Dinner of the Baseball Writers Association of America.


The players who win this type of distinction are because they have had through any type of problem but that always excels their sporting and competitive spirit.

Some players have been Mike Lowell, who was diagnosed with testicular cancer; Jason Johnson from Baltimore, who suffered from diabetes; Rocco Baldelli from Tampa Bay who was diagnosed with a mitochondrial disorder and the last to receive this recognition was Chad Bettis of Colorado, who was also diagnosed with testicular cancer.

Tony and all the players who have received this distinction have undoubtedly proven to be fighters, but their love for baseball has prevailed over all things. Our team even found that some of them after any difficult time they lived, have returned to baseball to continue playing.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.